Faculty

Music Department is located in the Timko-Barton Music Hall. We can be reached by calling 918.495.7500.

cheryl bocanegra

Dr. Cheryl Bocanegra, Chair
Associate Professor Music Theory, Piano, Music Technology, & Jazz Combo
B.Mus. in Piano Performance - Stephen F. Austin State University
M.M.Ed. - University of North Texas
Ph.D. in Music Theory - University of North Texas
cbocanegra@oru.edu   918.495.7518


christy andrews

Christy Andrews
Adjunct Clarinet Instructor
B.Mus. Performance - Oral Roberts University
Master of Music Performance - Texas Tech University
christy@clarinetnsax.com   918.495.7500


lorelei kaiser barton

Lorelei Kaiser Barton
Adjunct Private Harp and ORU Harp Ensemble Instructor
B.Mus. in Harp Performance - Lamont College of Music, University of Denver
lkbenterprises@sbcglobal.net   918.832.0934 or 918.520.4041


Joyce Bridgman

Joyce Bridgman
Assistant Professor Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
B.Mus. in Piano Performance - Phillips University
M.Mus. in Piano Performance - University of Kansas
Doctoral Candidacy Certificate in Musical Arts - University of Washington
Postgraduate studies at Indiana University
jbridgman@oru.edu   918.495.7517


chris brown

Chris Brown
Assistant Professor, Guitar Coordinator, All Guitar Classes, Jazz Combo
B.Mus. in Guitar Performance - University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
M.S. in Management and Human Relations - Abilene Christian University
M.Mus. in Guitar Performance - University of Oklahoma
chbrown@oru.edu   918.495.7522


Evan Chancellor

Evan Chancellor
Adjunct horn instructor
B.Mus.Ed. - University of North Texas
M.Mus., Horn Performance - Oklahoma City University
echancellor@oru.edu   918.495.7500


young eun chung

Mrs. Young-Eun Chung
Adjunct Class Piano Instructor
B.S. in Piano Performance - Austin Peay University, Clarksville, TN
M.M. in Piano Performance and Pedigogy - University of Oklahoma
ychung@oru.edu   918.495.7523


billy estes

Billy Estes
Adjunct Percussion Instructor
goin2cal@cox.net   918.495.7500


Randy Guthrie

Dr. J. Randall Guthrie
Professor Coordinator of Church Music/MULW Major Sr. Paper/Recital/Oratorio
B.S. in Music - University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A. in Church Music - Oral Roberts University
D.M.A. - Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Additional study at Oxford - Oxford, England, and at Florida State University
rguthrie@oru.edu   918.495.7514


bernard guzik

Bernard Guzik
Adjunct Tuba Instructor
B.Mus. - Juilliard College of Music
jrterror@cox.net   918.495.7500


steven haefner

Steven Haefner
Adjunct Trumpet Instructor
Eastman College of Music
1hxchops@haefnermusic.com   918.495.7500


jerry hatley Dr. Jerry Hatley
Professor - Coordinator of Music Composition
B.Mus. - Northeastern State University
M.Mus. in Composition - Louisiana State University
D.M.A. - University of Miami
jhatley@oru.edu   918.495.7521
 
 

Brad Henderson

Adjunct Music Technology Instructor

BS in Music Education - Northeastern State University

M.Mus. in Composition - University of Arkansas

rohenderson@oru.edu 918.495.7431


 

Dana Higbee

Adjunct Flute Instructor

BM in Flute Performance - Indiana University

Masters level training - University of Washington, Seattle

Principal Flute with Tulsa Opera Orchestra

Principal Flute with Signature Symphony

Second Flute and Piccolo with Tulsa Symphony

dhigbee@oru.edu 918.495.7500


 

 Dr. John Jenkins

Dr. John Jenkins
Assistant Professor - Instrumental Coordinator and Orchestra/Wind Ensemble Director
BA in Music - Mercer University
M. Mus. in Trombone Performance - University of Florida
D.M.A. - University of Missour-Kansas City Conservatory
jjenkins@oru.edu 918.495.7343

 


Sheri Scales Neubauer

Sheri Scales Neubauer
Adjunct Violin/Viola, Suzuki Instructor
B.Mus. - West Texas A&M University
M.Mus. - West Texas A&M University
sherineubauer@cox.net   918.495.7526


Erica Parker

Erica Parker
Adjunct Cello Instructor
B.Mus. in Cello Performance - University of Oklahoma
M.Mus. in Cello Performance - University of North Carolina
parkerfletcher@cox.net   918.495.7526


Edward Pierce

Dr. Edward Pierce
Professor Vocal & Choral Coordinator, University Chorale, Chamber Singers, Ladies & Gentlemen of Jazz
B.Mus. - Houghton College
M.Mus. - Eastman School of Music
D.M.A. - Eastman School of Music
epierce@oru.edu   918.495.7503

 
 

Dr. Michelle Price

Adjunct Vocal Instructor

BM in Piano Performance - Brandon University

BM in Voice Performance - Brandon University

M. Mus. in Piano Performance - Brandon University

D.M.A. in Piano Performance - University of Oklahoma

Dissertation: "The Piano Concerto in Canada Since 1900 with Stylistic Analyses of Works Since 1967 by: Eckhardt-Gramatte, Dolin, Louie, Kuzmenko, and Schmidt"

mprice@oru.edu 918.495.7568


Scott Quant

Dr. Scott Quant
Associate Professor Director of Music Education, Phonetics for Singers
B.Mus.Ed. - Oral Roberts University
M.Mus.Ed., Eastman College of Music - Rochester, New York
Ph.D. in Music Education - University of Arizona
squant@oru.edu   918.495.7504


Richard Rath

Richard Rath
Adjunct Oboe, Saxophone Instructor
B.Mus. Ed. - West Texas A&M University
M.Mus. - West Texas A&M University
Advanced Work at The University of Southern Mississippi
Yamaha Performing Artist/Clinician
rrath@richardrath.com   918.495.7280


Donald Ryan

Donald Ryan
Adjunct Piano Professor
B.Mus.Ed. - Oral Roberts University
M.Mus.Ed. - University of Tulsa
dryan@oru.edu   918.495.7520


Tim Schaefer

Tim Schaefer
Adjunct Guitar Instructor
B.Mus. in Guitar Performance - Oral Roberts University
tim.j.schaefer@gmail.com   


Robin Hock Smith

Robin Hock Smith
Adjunct Double and Electric Bass Instructor
B.Mus. in Performance - Oral Roberts University
M.Mus. in Performance - St. Louis Conservatory of Music
M.A.Ed. - University of Tulsa
songsmithrecords@cox.net   918.495.7500


 

Roy Smith
Adjunct Percussion Instructor
Berklee College of Music, Boston
firstperc@aol.com   918.495.7500


George Stevenson

Dr. George Stevenson
Associate Professor Music in World Cultures and Music History
B.Mus. - Ouachita Baptist University, Arkadelphia, Arkansas
M.C.M. in Voice Performance - The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
D.M.A. - Southern Seminary College of Church Music, Louisville, KY
Dissertation: The Hymnody of the Choctaw Indians of Oklahoma
gstevenson@oru.edu   918.495.7513


Richard Sutliff

Richard Sutliff
Assistant Professor Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, and Opera/Musical Theater
B.Mus. in Vocal Performance - Oral Roberts University
M.Mus. in Vocal Performance - The University of Tulsa
Conservatory Study at The Music Academy of the West, 3 years
Study at The Opera Center for American Artists at Lyric Opera of Chicago, 2 years
rsutliff@oru.edu   918.495.7515


Vicki Walker

Vicki Walker
Assistant Professor Piano, Music Theory Coordinator
B.M.Ed. - Oral Roberts University
M.Mus. in Piano Performance and Pedagogy - The University of Oklahoma
vwalker@oru.edu   918.495.7516


Tim Waters

Dr. Tim Waters
Professor Director of Jazz Band, Arranging, Music Technology
B.Mus. in Theory - Furman University
M.M.Ed. - The University of Georgia
D.M.A. in Composition - The University of Georgia
Dissertation: Into The Wilderness: Concerto for Tuba and Band
twaters@oru.edu   918.495.7512


Ron Wheeler

Ron Wheeler
Adjunct, Instrumental Conducting
Bachelor of Applied Music Violin - University of Tulsa
Graduate work - University of Tulsa
Participated in conducting workshops of the American Symphonic Orchestra League
rwheeler@oru.edu   918.495.7509