ORU's Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature delegation places second best at state Capitol

Recently, the Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature (O.I.L.) delegation at Oral Roberts University was awarded and recognized as the second best delegation at the state Capitol in Oklahoma City. The runner-up finish ends the unprecedented streak of being selected as the best delegation for eight consecutive sessions.

The Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature (O.I.L.) is a statewide competition where over 20 universities in Oklahoma compete in the fall and the spring at the State Capitol. O.I.L. replicates all three branches of the state government of Oklahoma and provides students an opportunity to write, debate, and pass legislation. O.I.L. also contains a moot court and journalism competition. O.I.L. provides practical experience in cooperation, leadership, and respect which will prove invaluable later in life, whether pursuing politics or not.

Under the outstanding leadership of Josh Wagoner, Sarah Sandford, Rachel Ferris, Dan Appel, and Luke Paulson, several members of the Oral Roberts O.I.L. delegation captured numerous individual awards. Following are the individual results:


2nd Place - Oral Roberts University


Best Senate Delegation

2nd Place - Oral Roberts University

Best Senate Delegate

1st Place Sarah Sandford

2nd Place Luke Paulson

Best Senate Freshman (First-time O.I.L. participants)

3rd Place Michael Cole


Best House Delegation

2nd Place - Oral Roberts University

Best House Delegate

3rd Place - Greg Tanis

Best House Freshman (First-time O.I.L. participants)

2nd Place Rex Burke