The Oral Roberts University (ORU) campus newspaper and yearbook, the Oracle and the Perihelion, together received 25 awards and seven honorable mentions at the Oklahoma Collegiate Media Association (OCMA) awards ceremony.

The Oracle newspaper won an Honorable Mention and three awards, including the Award of Excellence of Overall Newspaper. The Perihelion received four Awards of Excellence in varying areas. The rest of the awards were given to the individual staff members themselves.

The OCMA allows all college newspapers within the state of Oklahoma to send in articles, newspaper design and layouts, photography and yearbooks in order to compete in different categories of media and journalism.

Bryce Merkl, Editor in Chief of the Oracle for the past school year, expected some awards at the OCMA ceremony, but not this many.

"We try to do a really good job, we try and think, this just isn't professional and that is," said Merkl, who is proud of the teamwork that the Oracle staff was able to achieve. "I want to definitely say it is a team effort, there is no way the overall awards belong to any one person."

Individual Awards four-year Schools

Honorable Mention: Rachel Whitlock

Feature Writing
First Place: Sarah Al-Khaldi
Third place: Jordan McCown

Sports Writing
First Place: Jordan McCown
Honorable Mention: Eli Linton
Honorable Mention: Nathanael Robertson

Individual Awards two-and four-year Schools

Display Ads
First Place: Liliya Smal
Second Place: Sherman Merchant
Honorable Mention: Aimee Deal

Column Writing
First Place: Chelsea Kimbrough

Investigative Reporting
Third Place: Bryce Merkl

Multimedia Storytelling
Third Place: Heather Egly
Honorable Mention: Meredith Negri

Yearbook Feature Writing
First place: Kathleen Kelly
Second Place: Allison Schaeffer
Third Place: Mallory Beyer

Yearbook Sports Writing
First Place: Brittney Hunter
Second Place: Seanacie Weber

News Photography
First Place: Kristina Simberg

Feature Photography
Honorable Mention: Ale parker

Yearbook Photography
First Place: Michele Zamecnik
Second Place: Joy Bork
Third Place: Kristin Threadgill

Newspaper Awards four-year Schools-Private
Front Page Design: Award of Merit
Interior Page Design: Award of Excellence
Overall Newspaper: Award of Excellence

Newspaper Awards Online
The Oracle: Honorable Mention

Yearbook Awards
Theme: Award of Excellence
Content and Coverage: Award of Excellence
Photography: Award of Excellence
Layout and Design: Award of Excellence
Overall Yearbook: Award of Excellence