ORU Graduate Receives PRSSA Award

Jenna Schario PhotoJenna Schario, 2010 ORU graduate, has received the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) National Gold Key Award.

The National Gold Key Award was created in 1983 to acknowledge outstanding PRSSA members. It is the highest individual honor awarded by the organization and recognizes outstanding academic excellence in public relations and leadership.

Schario, who earned a B.S. in Media with an emphasis in public relations and advertising, is now the communications and awareness manager for the Alzheimer's Association, Oklahoma and Arkansas Chapter.

"I am excited to have received this award from PRSSA and believe it recognizes the collective efforts of ORU students, the faculty and area professionals who want to advance the profession of public relations," Schario said. "It also comes at a great time as I bridge from college student to a professional career."

As a junior at ORU and serving as PRSSA's membership director, Jenna helped double the club's membership. As seniors, Schario and fellow student Elissa Peterson co-chaired the campus' first-ever PRSSA regional conference. Schario recruited sponsorships and speakers for the event which gave attendees an inside look at the sports and entertainment industries. The event drew more than 50 students, faculty and chapter advisors from multiple states, colleges and universities.

Cristi Freudenrich, ORU Chapter of PRSSA faculty advisor, recommended Schario for the award. "Jenna recognizes the knowledge which can be gained from interacting with public relations practitioners. To that end, she worked diligently in her PRSSA roles to connect students to industry professionals. Her efforts along with an outstanding academic record made her a strong candidate for this honor. I am extremely pleased the committee recognized her leadership and accomplishments."

Gold Key Awards will be presented during the PRSSA Awards Ceremony and Dinner scheduled for October 18 at PRSSA's national conference in Washington, D.C.