Education Alumni Honored

Alumni of the College of Education, Julie DiSalvo and Sherrie Shalise Jackson, have both been named Teachers of the Year. "I cannot say enough about the ORU teacher preparation program. The quality of the professors and the experience on and off campus made a tremendous difference in the way I teach and communicate," wrote DiSalvo in an e-mail notifying the College of Education of her achievement. DiSalvo was named Elementary Teacher of the Year for the Lewisville School District where she teaches fifth grade math at Vickery Elementary School in Flower Mound, Texas. Jackson was chosen Teacher of the Year at Eugene Field Elementary School in Tulsa where she teaches second grade.

Beth Dixon, a 2005 graduate of the ORU College of Education, has been named the winner of an Excellence in Education Merit Award in Special Education by the Professional Oklahoma Educators Foundation. Dixon teaches at Marshall Elementary School in the Tulsa Public Schools system. There were 31 nominees for the Education Merit Awards and five winners who were honored at a banquet April 17 in Oklahoma City.