Fifteen Alumni Earned Prestigious
National Board

Fifteen alumni from the ORU College of Education, all teachers in Oklahoma, have earned the prestigious National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification.

Like board-certified doctors and accountants, teachers who achieve National Board Certification have met rigorous standards through intensive study, expert evaluation, self-assessment and peer review.  In a congressionally mandated study, National Board Certifcation was recently recognized by the National Research Council as having a positive impact on student achievement, teacher retention and professional development.

The alumni are:  Melissa Lytle, Joel Illgen, Brenda Turner, Annmarie Wright, Jessica Dixon, Sandy Knudson, Jodi Steele, Diana Ball, Carla Munozcano, Melissa Duvall, Patrinal Singleton, Karen Dotson, Naomi Poindexter, Jenifer Zewalk-Forbes and Stephanie McDaniel.

If you are teaching outside of Oklahoma and have earned this certification, the College of Education would like to receive an e-mail from you.  Send it to the dean, Dr. David Hand at