ORU Sets Unprecendented Record at OIL

The delegation of students from ORU who competed at the Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature (OIL) April 8-12 won Overall Best Delegation for the fourth semester in a row. This sets a record for the most consecutive overall wins in the 40-year history of OIL. Along with many individual awards, ORU also won first place for senate delegation, second place in the journalism competition, and third place for the house delegation.

OIL hosts a five-day mock legislative session in the Oklahoma State Capitol once a semester. For the spring 2009 competition, delegations from 13 universities from across the state competed. ORU students also won the following individual awards:

Senate Awards

Best Delegate: Joshua Owings

Second Best Delegate: Natalie Avery

Best Freshman Delegate: Jim Reinsma

Second Best Freshman Delegate: Jonathan Hall

Third Best Legislation: Natalie Avery

House of Representatives Awards

Second Best House Delegate: Aaron Tift

Best Freshman Delegate: Tie between Rebekah Johnson and Alicia Chandler

Second Best Freshman Delegate: Samuel Molik

Third Best Legislation: Morgan Moran

Supreme Court Awards (moot court competition)

First Place Court Attorney: Andrew Saah

Second Place Court Attorney: Zana Williams